Discover the learning path that’s right for you

Using the Customer Actions Buttons

Autosoft -

When you're in a customer record, you can perform several functions using the Customer action buttons in the upper right corner of the screen. For full details on using the Customer action buttons, click on the button labels listed below.

New Deal

Merge Individual

Set Inactive/Set Active

 

Starting a New Deal from a Customer Record

If your customer is ready to start building a deal, you can start the process right from their customer record. 

Step 1. While in the customer's record, click New Deal.

customer_record_new_deal_button.jpg

Step 2. The Deal Information pop-up will open containing defaults set in System Setup. To change the information in a field, click the options button to the right of the field and select a different option from the drop-down menu.

Step 3. Click Save. The new deal will open to the Overview page. You'll see that the customer has been added as the buyer. Continue building the deal. For more information, see the Sales Knowledge Base. 

Back to top

Merging Customers

You can use the merge function to combine multiple records for the same individual customer into a single record. This feature cleans up your customer records without sacrificing any customer information or requiring any rekeying. The customer’s activity, vehicles, and notes are merged with the selected individual.

This feature can be useful, for example, if you find that a female customer has a record under her maiden name, and a second under her married name, or when a customer has been entered into the system multiple times by different dealership employees.

Note: If more than two customer records exist in the system for the same customer, you must merge the original customer record with one record at a time. 

Step 1. On the Customer Search screen, locate the customer for whom you want to merge records. Click the View icon to open one of the customer’s records. The Customer Record will open to the Overview screen.

Step 2. Click the Merge Individual button. The Merge Individual pop-up will open..

customer_record_merge_customer_button.jpg

Step 3. Enter the customer’s partial or full name in the Search field and click Search or press ENTER.

Step 4. From the search results, click on the customer record you want to merge with the original customer record. This will be referred to as the Selected Individual, while the customer record you opened originally will be referred to as the Original Individual.

Step 5. Click Merge Individual.

Step 6. A Confirm Merge Individual pop-up will notify you of any conflicts between the two customer records. It will list all of the conflicts, providing the differing information in the Original Individual and the Selected Individual columns. Verify with your customer which of the two options is correct and click the radio button in the appropriate column to select the correct detail. Continue this process for each conflict.

If no conflicts are found, the pop-up will notify you of that.

Note: While the Merge Customer feature will merge the activity, vehicles, and notes from the Selected Individual with those of the Original Individual, any connections established in the Selected Individual’s record will be lost. Make note of the Selected Individual’s connections so you can re-enter them in the Original Individual’s record.

To proceed, click Complete Merge. A green “Success” message will confirm that the merge was successfully completed.

Step 7. You will be returned to the Original Individual’s Customer Overview page. Use the Add Connection button in the Customer Summary card to re-establish any Selected Individual connections that were lost. (See the Knowledge Base item “Adding an Existing Customer as a Customer Connection” for details on adding connections.

Back to top

Making a Customer Inactive

You cannot delete customers from the system. You can, however, mark a customer inactive in the event that the customer has moved out of the area, been out of contact for an extended period of time, or has passed away. By marking a customer inactive, you maintain the connections you created for the customer, as well as all of the customer's record.

When searching for customers, any customers marked “inactive” will not appear. However, you can use the Show Inactive toggle at the bottom right of the Customer Search screen to include inactive customers in the search results. Any inactive customers will be noted as such in the Status column of the Customer Search screen.

Step 1. Search for the customer you wish to edit using the Customer Search screen.

Step 2. From the search results, click the View icon for the customer to select the individual or business customer. You can also click on the customer to open the Customer Quick Look card and verify that this is the customer you wish to edit. Within the Quick Look card, you can click View Individual or View Business, depending on the customer type. The customer record will open.

Step 3. In the upper-right corner of the screen above the Customer Summary card, click Set Inactive.

customer_set_inactive.JPG

A green “Success” message will verify that the change has been made. You’ll also notice that next to the customer’s name in the Customary Summary card, the word “Inactive” appears. The customer will no longer appear in the Customer Search list unless you click the Show Inactive toggle.

customer_inactive_label.JPG

Note: If the customer has been marked "Inactive," the Set Inactive button will be replaced by a Set Active button. 

Back to top

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk